Youtube transcripts – get useless auto-transcripts replaced with a helpful version!

I’ve just been having a late lunch-break and watching a video on YouTube, as you do. One of my many hobbies is crochet, so I decided to watch this video from ‘Girlybunches’ on how to make a ‘hyperbolic crochet brooch – but don’t worry if you don’t care in the slightest about crochet; that’s not what I’m writing about.

I liked what I saw so I looked for the subscribe button. I admit it should have been hard to miss, being bright red an’all, but I wasn’t wearing my glasses! So I started looking through various available buttons and found one called ‘transcript’. Intriguing! Obviously I had to find out more!

What I found out was that machine transcription has a long way to go!

Here is a short sample of what Olivia from Girlybunches actually said:

I just think the half-treble gives you just a little bit more length, which makes it come out a little bit more. Another point is, make this with, erm, now how can I be polite …

Here’s what the machine transcription thought she said:

I just think home trouble Kyushu district bit mornings which makes it come out a little bit more am another point he’s make meese with I’m know how can be polite

Honestly, it’s all like this, I’m not just picking the worst bits!

Here’s another bit.

And magically … and I will put links down below to my video showing how to do these things. You know, you won’t have to worry about not knowing how to do them ‘cause I’ve shown you. And you just do twelve in the loop …

Or, alternatively, from the machine transcriber:

and magically armpit links temple known to my video showing how much do these things time you know you don’t have to you worry about not my cup Stephen itself option you and you just eat well in the …

Now I don’t really know why YouTube provides transcripts – is it to help with SEO? If so then frankly it probably won’t! What comes from the machine transcriber will probably miss most of your essential keywords! Is it to help people with a hearing impairment? Again, if you look at these examples you’ll see that it probably won’t!

Perhaps it’s confused by Olivia’s English accent? OK, let’s find an American video to compare. Here we go, here’s one by CinnaZilla aka the Delta Quadrant. He’s got an American accent and you can find him here. This is what he actually says:

Hey Youtubers, I am starting to create a series of videos on crochet techniques.

Here’s the machine transcription:

pages firsthand and starting too creatine series videos on appreciate techniques

And so it goes on.

So what’s to be done? Well the good news is that you can replace the terrible machine captions with a quality transcription containing the real words that you say. How? Well, it’s quite  a straightforward process. First, you get your friendly neighbourhood transcriptionists (hopefully us here at Penguin Transcription!) to make a transcript of your file.

Then you go to your channel page on Youtube, choose the video you want, click the bar under ‘edit’ and then choose captions. In the captions page you have the opportunity to upload the transcript that you’ve received from us. Then, once it’s uploaded, you click on the box that says ‘sync’ and Youtube will attempt to sync your voice with the uploaded transcript. It takes a little while, but not too long, for that to happen. And then, hey presto, a transcript that’s actually useful!

We’re looking forward to working with you!

Leave a Reply

